John Okoth: From Nakuru’s Age-Grade System to the Kenya Simbas

James Njenga
6 min readApr 10, 2020

--

When players are fresh from high school, their priority is proving their worth in club rugby and then maybe, they can prove themselves worthy of the national team call up. Top fry Nakuru’s John Okoth made it to the Kenya Simbas squad in just under a year.

Nine years ago Okoth was just another ordinary class five kid at New Life Africa School. No interest in co-curricular activities. Then he gave in to pressure from friends who played rugby. A few months in and he was in the prestigious Nakuru Rugby Academy that is famed for producing quality players. Okoth became so good that just two years into his new journey, he made it to the Kenya U15 squad that traveled to France in 2013.

Rugby for him has already been beneficial having gone through high school without paying a dime in school fees. He is also planning to join University on Topfry Nakuru’s tab.

He is the kind of player that can turn a game on its head. I admired his skill set when he was in high school so much that I once attempted to lure him to my team. Of course, I was unsuccessful but that did not stop me from admiring him. He was a future star. It is a shame that throughout his high school life he only managed to play at the national school games once.

Fast forward to 2019, a year he probably won’t forget. His most successful year yet. Only months after doing his national exams at Nakuru Day High School, Okoth was already the vice-captain of Nakuru RFC’s second-string side for the 2018/2019 Eric Shirley Shield season, made it to the Chipu squad and to cap it all off, he made his Kenya Simbas bow in the Elgon Cup against Uganda in Kisumu.

His midfield prowess and ability to make the best out of his partners was too much to miss out on for any coach. He was dropped from the Chipu squad that won the Barthes Cup at KCB Ruaraka grounds but he made it to the squad that went to Brazil for the Junior World Trophy. “I was a bit shy in the beginning and I was not interacting well with the rest of the squad maybe that is why I did not make it to the last 23 that played the Barthes Cup. I, however, worked hard and made it to the team for the Brazil trip”

“Brazil was a completely different experience. The teams there played more of brains and skills as opposed to the physical game we play here. The culture was also fantastic.”

In Brazil, Okoth donned the number 12 jersey and went on to start every single game for the Paul Odera-coached outfit. His flashy and composed style of play that saw him exploits pockets of space left unmarked by opponents did enough to convince Kenya Simbas selectors and newly appointed Head Coach Paul Odera that he was worthy of a spot.

The Kenya Simbas number 12 jersey has been won by very iconic and prolific names in the game over the years, the likes of Kelvin “Kichwa” Omiyo, Nick Barasa, Leo Seje and lately, Darwin Mukidza. He must have been feeling the pressure when he made his bow against Uganda in the Elgon Cup in Kisumu. “There was a lot of pressure to perform; there is always pressure to keep the standards high. Those were very big players ahead of me but with encouragement from my teammates, I was calm and I think I played well.”

His performances with the national squads elevated him to a dependable player for his boyhood club, Nakuru. He formed some tantalizing and lethal partnerships with Walter Okoth (now at Kabras), Oscar Ouma, Gramwel Bunyasi and Brian Kimani. Of the 16 league games Nakuru played, he was involved in all of them, starting 15 and coming off the bench in one game.

He thinks his partnership with Walter was one of the “perfect bonds” he has formed with a player. “We gelled well with Walter; given that we had played together for a long time, we are both young so our mission was always to express ourselves in every game. I also played with Onyala in the national team, it was a great performance for us just because we had a very short time to train and play together.” So how does he rank the midfield partnerships? “Walter first, then Onyala.”

Before the 15s league season began, Okoth was involved in four legs of the National 7s Circuit i.e. Prinsloo, Christies, Driftwood and Dala. He put in a performance that earned him a call up to the Kenya Shujaa training squad although he was dropped eventually. He, however, relishes that experience “I got a chance to play with the big names in the game and my call up to the training squad allowed me to interact with some of the Shujaa players I have always admired.”

His former coach Mitch Ocholla describes him as a gentle beast. “I am proud of the young lad’s exploits especially because of his discipline and skill set. He’s a product of the age-grade system. He has good line breaks, is a solid defender, a great passer of the ball, possesses a killer sidestep and a great fend.” Ocholla further adds, “If he keeps this up and gets to understand himself well, he is a star for Kenya rugby is in the making.”

Who’s played a big role in his development?

For a rugby player to reach his/her peak, he must have gone through a lot of coaching and guidance. Okoth has been under the tutelage of several big-name coaches and he tells us the coach that has played a big part in his unraveling career. “Felix Oloo has made a really big impact in my life, from the age-grade to now that I am playing for the national team. Paul Odera is also a very good coach.”

Is Paul Odera as articulate about small things as the whisperers say? “Yes, he is very concerned about the small stuff, he loathes small mistakes. He puts a lot of pressure on you so you can maintain a high standard of play. He has instilled a lot of skills and confidence in me and the little time I have spent with him, I have improved a lot.”

In the next five years, Okoth aims at helping the Kenya Simbas qualify for the 2023 World Cup. “The World Cup is our main focus and I hope I will play a part in the qualification. I also want to play professional rugby abroad.”

He appreciates the fact that he has already had the opportunity to play alongside his role mode, Oscar Ouma. “He is a motivation to me on the pitch, playing with him gives me more courage and confidence to perform better. He is my role model.”

For those who do not know John Okoth well, he likes to read a lot. He also likes to eat, something that has seen him add a little weight and reduced that gas in those jet shoes he used to have. “I am a little slower than before but with the extra weight, I have become a big boy now and I can dominate collision areas in the game. People think that I use supplements and steroids while it is just food.”

Lastly, Okoth has a word of advice for young players looking to make an impact In the local rugby scene. “Hard work and persistence will get you where you want to be. Also, look after your bodies, what you put in your body determines how you perform on the pitch and for how long your career will run.”

We definitely wish John Okoth all the best in his glittering career.

As usual, Take Care of Yourselves! Stay Home and Stay Safe.Adios…

Originally published at https://themaverick.co.ke on April 10, 2020.

--

--

James Njenga

I love sports. View the world of sports through my eyes